A member organisation is one that forms the NIHR ARC KSS as part of the collaboration with the host organisation and, as such, has made co-funding commitments.

Examples of member organisations include local providers of NHS services, NHS commissioners, local authorities, local providers of care services, Higher Education Institutes (HEIs), third sector, industry or commercial, and Academic Health Science Network. The NIHR ARC host organisation may also be a member organisation. The NIHR ARC KSS welcomes new member organisations which were not part of the original application.

Other parts of the NIHR, such as NIHR Infrastructure (e.g. NIHR BRC, NIHR MIC) and the NIHR Research Design Service (RDS), cannot be member organisations of an NIHR ARC but they can of course work in partnership and collaborate.

The member organisation agreement (MoA), into which member organisations enter with the host organisation, ensures compliance with the relevant provisions of the NIHR ARC head contract. This includes submission of an annual statement of co-funding expenditure against activity and proposed co-funding for the subsequent year.

The NIHR will review its level of funding, if an NIHR ARC does not secure the required level of co-funding for the contracted period.
ARC KSS is working collaboratively with member organisations to deliver applied health and social care research and implement or improve service delivery in line with a population's needs. If you are interested in becoming an ARC KSS member organisations and finding out how you can get involved please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Co-funding guidance

Our current membership includes:

  • Brighton and Hove City Council
  • British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy
  • Brighton and Sussex Medical School
  • Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Central Surrey Health
  • Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust
  • East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust
  • East Sussex County Council
  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Hospice in the Weald
  • Integrated Care 24 Ltd
  • Kent and Medway NHS and Social Care Partnership Trust
  • Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Kent County Council
  • Kent Fire and Rescue Service Headquarters
  • Kent Surrey Sussex AHSN
  • Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust
  • Medway Council
  • Medway NHS Foundation Trust
  • National Social Marketing Centre
  • NHS Kent and Medway CCG
  • Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust
  • St. Barnabas Hospice
  • Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • The University of Chichester
  • University of Brighton
  • University of Greenwich
  • University of Kent
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Sussex
  • Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • West Sussex County Council
  • Organisations within Surrey Heartlands Health & Care Partnership
  • Organisations within Sussex Health and Care Partnership
  • Organisations within Kent & Medway Sustainability and Transformation Partnership
Recite Me Accessibility Tools